When following a gluten free diet you will invariably spend a lot of time reading food labels. There is a lot of information on packaging such as —nutritional
information, ingredient list, advice on allergens, cooking instructions and storage information.
Rule 1 - Try to choose food labelled 'gluten free' or foods carrying the Crossed Grain logo.
Rule 2 - If you don’t see wheat, rye, barley, oats or gluten on a food label then there are no ingredients derived from gluten-containing grains and the product is gluten free (products manufactured in NZ and Australia only)
Rule 3 – Exceptions to Rule 2, there are some ingredients derived from wheat which are so highly processed that they contain ‘no detectable gluten’ due to processing. These include caramel from wheat, dextrose from wheat, glucose syrup from wheat* and maltodextrin.
Rule 4 - If in doubt, leave it out
* For further information regarding 2016 legislation changes regarding labelling exemptions for glucose syrup derived to wheat (and distilled alcohol from wheat or whey), please go to the FSANZ website.
|Reading Food Labels Booklet
| Ingredients List Booklet